Posted by: debrakolkka | March 28, 2010

Markets in Lucca

Most Italian towns of a reasonable size have weekly or twice weekly street markets.  In Lucca they are held on Wednesdays and Saturdays.  In some towns, including the lovely San Gimignano, markets are positioned in the town square, which can spoil the ambience to a degree.

Lucca street market

Fortunately in Lucca, the markets are spread around the edge of town, just inside the walls, between Porta Elisa and Porta San Jacopo.

There are always crowds of locals shopping in these street markets.  It is possible to buy almost anything here, from fresh produce to yellow, heart shaped sunglasses,  hardware, underwear ( where you try it on I have no idea) and all types of clothing.  A lot of people are complaining that there are too many products made in China rather than Italy.  This doesn’t stop anybody buying, as the prices are very reasonable.

fresh garlic

fresh produce

shoes for everyone

Do you just have to guess?

Anyone for a nice new wig?

They come in all colours and cost 5 euro

All sorts of things you didn’t know you needed.

pansies in all colours

A famous face – and body

You can even buy products modelled by a famous Australian.

UPDATE. The Lucca markets have now moved outside the walls. Look for them behind Esselunga and Euronics.


Responses

  1. Debra, I loooooove markets!
    They are my favorite Passe-temps!
    I wanted to ask you if you ever stop by Ventimiglia market (you know the illegal one:) Please share some pictures:)
    I went there once, on my way to SanRemo, but never bought anything, we are against counterfeit but I love to see what is being counterfeit these days.
    Thank you again for sharing Debra! Excellent blog!
    Mirella

    Like

  2. If I was at the market, I would definitely bought the Ravioli Cutter 🙂

    Like

  3. I have been through Ventimiglia, but I have not been to the markets. I will be sure to do so if we are there in the future. The authorities are clamping down on the counterfeit goods now. You see far fewer counterfiet items being sold in the streets. We used to see a lot at Forte dei Marmi, but now the boys are trying to get by selling umbrellas. I’m sure they pray for rain.

    Like

  4. When I saw your site was like wow. Thanks for putting your effort in writing this site.

    Like

    • hank you for your comments. I hope you keep reading.

      Like

  5. Hi – a few years back I stumbled across a wonderful small market in Lucca which was mainly hand crafted products. It was in the streets of Lucca and not around the walls where the big markets are held. I woukd love to pass on the details to a friend but cannot remember where it was or what day of the week. Any information would be welcome. Ciao Sue

    Like

  6. Hello Debra

    Im thinking of spending part of my year in Lucca. Visited once with my daughter. How do you feel it would suit a single woman with a tiny bit of Italian .. i will rent to begin with

    Bertie

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

