Posted by: debrakolkka | August 28, 2010

Delicious Zucchini

I am taking you to Il Frantoio in Puglia again to show you another of the wonderful dishes we ate there.  I bought some freshly picked zucchini at the markets this morning and they made me think of Puglia.  The food obviously made a big impression on us and I am often tempted to try to create some of the delicious things we tried.

the ingredients

You will need 2 or 3 zucchini, fresh blanched almonds, parmesan cheese, olive oil, lemon or lime juice, flat leaf parsley, salt and pepper. Finely slice the zucchini lengthways with a mandolin slicer or a vegetable peeler – being careful not to slice your finger, as I did.

slice the zucchini

Carefully cut the almonds in half.  Finely slice the parmesan cheese.  I am reluctant to use the word shave here, as in my mind I see cheese with whiskers – not something I really want to see.

almonds and parmesan cheese

Pour the lemon juice and olive oil over the zucchini and mix carefully.  Don’t attempt vast quantities of zucchini as they will become hard to handle and the zucchini will break and bruise.

gently mix the zucchini with the oil and lemon juice

Arrange ingredients on a plate and tuck in.  The dish is best made as close as possible to eating.  It would make a great primo piatto – entree, contorno – side dish, or on its own with fresh bread for lunch.

Delicious Zucchini

I find the name curious.  In Italian zucca means pumpkin, which makes zucchini – little pumpkins.  They are also called courgette.  Whatever they are called, they are a very versatile vegetable.


Responses

  1. Very healthy! GREAT photography too!

  2. That looks yummy, Deb. Great to learn simple dishes from other countries.

  3. In the middle of my ironing I wandered off to see what the rest of the world was doing – Oh that looks wonderful; I can hear cicadas, convivial conversation and laughter, see the dappling shade of grape vines – hey ho back to the ironing basket!!

    • There is always ironing!

  4. Looks great. I’ll try it some time soon.

    Richard

    PS I’m glad you didn’t yield to the temptation to add a photo of your sliced finger to add colour and drama to the post.

    • I was tempted. I did a good job and actually sliced through my finger nail as well. It would have added a nice splash of red to the post.
      Deb

  5. Beautiful & simple. Like it.

  6. So simple but so yummy looking. I’m collecting zucchini recipes so that I’m prepared for the summer zucchini glut in my vegetable garden so this is perfect. Thanks!

  7. I really like zucchini too. They’re so healthy and mild tasting! :D

  8. My culinary skills could even manage this delicious dish – so simple.

  9. This zucchini dish looks divine. I may just have to try it out!

    Thanks so much for your wishes on our upcoming trip to Italy. I’m looking forward to reading more about your experiences. :)

  10. Finally …Google ad spotted on base of this post ‘fix up your allotment’ Roz

  11. have been making this recipe throughout the summer so much zucchini, this is the recipe that contains the least calories! I also made scarpaccia – the sweet and savoury zucchini pie! Do they make it in bagni di lucca?

    • I hadn’t heard of this dish, but I looked on your blog and it looks great. I will give it a try. I haven’t seen it in Bagni di Lucca. I will be back there soon and I will keep an eye out for it. Thank you.
      Debra

  12. I’ll be making this soon!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,817 other followers

