Posted by: debrakolkka | September 4, 2010

Cafe Bouquiniste

Alford St bus stop

Directly opposite the Alford St bus stop in Merthyr Rd, New Farm is the delightful Cafe Bouquiniste.  As well as serving excellent coffee, delicious light breakfasts and lunches and great cakes it has an interesting selection of books.  It has become one of my favourite places to meet friends.  Bouquiniste manages to be stylish and quaint at the same time.

Cafe Bouquiniste

Now that spring is here the outdoor area is very popular

books for sale

today's menu

breakfast

raspberry yoghurt cake

I go especially for the rasperry yoghurt cake.  It just has to be good for you with all that fruit and yoghurt.

While you are there take the time to look at the beautiful leopard tree near the bus stop.  It has the most heavenly orchid growing on it.

the leopard tree across the road

yellow orchids

I am going to Italy today.  I stop over in Hong Kong and Helsinki on the way.  I will be in Bagni di Lucca by this time next week and I can start gathering stories and photos from the village and beyond.  Liz will take over for the next few posts.


Responses

  1. Looks lovely. I will have to try it next time I’m in Brisbane.

    Have a good trip. I look forward to your posts from Bagni di Lucca.

    Like

  2. Have fun in Italy and Helsinki (do you stop off for long)! I’m interested to see what you think of Helsinki!

    Like

    • I love Helsinki. This will be my 6th time there. I have written several posts from there, including one from Juuri, as you did. I found yours later and thanks to you found out what my cabbage was stuffed with. I will be taking some photos of lovely Helsinki in autumn.

      Like

  3. Can’t wait to read your new posts from Bagni di Lucca. Magnificent Leopard gum tree – I’m a bit of a tree nut, love ’em. Thanks for sharing & safe trip. Cheers Anna

    Like

  4. Have fun my friend, take care.

    Like

    • I surely will, and thank you.

      Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

