Posted by: Debra Kolkka | July 19, 2014

Fennel and blood orange salad

On my final night in Italy I had dinner at a restaurant beside the Hotel Julia, where I always stay in Rome. I ordered saltimbocca and a fennel and blood orange salad. The saltimbocca was fairly ordinary but the salad was delicious.

I recreated it myself shortly after I arrived home…it was quite simple.

The ingredients…a fennel bulb, a blood orange, pitted olives and anchovies.

20140719-081421.jpg

 

Slice the fennel finely.

20140719-081501.jpg

Pour a little olive oil, lemon juice, salt and pepper on the fennel and let it sit for a while.

20140719-081629.jpg

Peel and slice the orange.

20140719-081802.jpg

 

To assemble the salad, place the olives in a dish.

20140719-081921.jpg

Arrange the anchovies over the olives.

20140719-081958.jpg

…then the fennel.

20140719-082035.jpg

…and the orange slices.

20140719-082124.jpg

I served it with some grilled Tasmanian ocean trout. The only thing missing was lovely Rome.


Responses

  1. Totally delicious and very healthy meal. think we’ll be having a go at that albeit we’ll have to use local trout!

    Like

  2. Sounds good – my salads always seem to turn out the same – must try this one

    Like

  3. Looks delicious! I will copy your recipe, Debra, but I will have to wait until the winter comes, as it is practically impossible to find blood oranges in Europe in the middle of summer…

    Like

    • They have a short season here too. Ordinary oranges would do.

      Like

  4. How yummy and simple. I haven’t seen blood oranges here but will substitute with the normal orange.

    Like

  5. You sure are observant and clever in replicating the recipes learnt in restaurants. I love the look of the salad and will try it myself. Love the idea of using ocean trout with it. Any kind of fish will probably compliment the salad, too.

    Like

    • The salad is delicious and would be a great side dish, or just by itself.

      Like

  6. Looks wonderful and I am sure yummy.

    Like

    • I love fennel and blood oranges, and this combination is great.

      Like

  7. Just that first line makes me long for the divine tastes and scents of Rome..even the noise.. and here I am struggling with a sick cow, when i could be in Rome.. What was i THINKING!?.. same me a seat!.. c

    Like

    • Rome is wonderful. It is nice to be able to recreate just a bit of it at home.

      Like

      • agreed, for me it is pizza bianca.. she says shewing on a crust!

        Like

  8. Yum! Ingredients I love separately. So I must love them together! I have no sick cow, so I’ll try it right away.

    Like

    • I like all the ingredients too, and they make a great combination.

      Like

  9. It sounds delicious – time to try it out.

    Like

  10. I can imagine the wonderful salty, sweet and juicy aniseed flavours – it would be a lovely contrast to the fish.

    Like

    • It is delicious, I’m sure you will like it.

      Like

  11. Sounds such an interesting taste sensation. I will try it soon.

    Like

  12. This looks fabulous! A great combination of sweet, salt and sour. Great recreation!

    Like

    • It was almost as good as the one I had in Rome.

      Like

  13. I will try this. I do a fennel and orange salad but with white beans.

    Like

    • I love white beans, that would be good too.

      Like

  14. Ooh we have all of those ingredients in season now! I really want to try this 😀

    Like

  15. This looks heavenly – and so easy to make. Oranges (and avocados) are one of my favourite ingredients in a salad!

    Like

    • It is really easy to make and it tasts great.

      Like

  16. Italy was where I learned to use fennel…such a good salad. Love the olive contrast.

    Like

    • Fennel is delicious raw or cooked…I love it.

      Like

  17. I love fennel … so this seems wonderful!

    Like

  18. A wonderful classic with a twist! Lovely!

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

