Posted by: Debra Kolkka | November 8, 2016

Home in Brisbane

I am back in Brisbane for a while. As difficult as it is to leave Italy, I enjoy coming home.

Brisbane is looking great. The jacaranda trees still have some of their gorgeous lilac blossoms.

jacaranda

Jacaranda

The poinciana trees have started to flower.

Poinciana

Poinciana

We had a spectacular late spring storm in the afternoon.

Brisbane storm

…and best of all, my favourite fruit is in season. I love mangoes and papaya.

mango papaya

I can’t wait for these delicious black cherries to appear. There are definite benefits to being home for summer.

I have lots of posts about my time in Italy coming up as well as things I find of interest in my home town.

 

 


Responses

  1. Yes glorious time of year in Brisbane Deb, and more to come through the summer – the greengrocer told me the other day that the red papaya are better this season than ever before. and so good for you!

    Like

    • …and let’s not forge, they are delicious.

      Like

  2. I agree, the summer blossoms and fruit are lovely and I do like the drama of a gathering storm – and it’s not that hot – yet.

    Like

    • Yesterday was a bit steamy, but it is to be expected.

      Like

  3. We have the same type of red flowers in Vietnam. This is the first time I know the trees’ name! I also love lilac flowers! They have delicate fragance right?

    Like

    • Jacarandas do have a lovely fragrance. It is delightful to stand under one.

      Like

  4. Beautiful post, Debra. You certainly are enjoying the best of both worlds.

    Like

    • I know, I get to live in 2 great places.

      Like

  5. Hi Deb… good to have you home … the jacarandas are fabulous … great time of year and down here by the bay is always a little cooler…I too love red pawpaw (prefer the old Aussie name)!! There are far more about this year and delicious !! I did finally learn to like mango about 5 years ago although still don’t much like the smell of them. xx

    Like

    • Mangoes are my favourite fruit, worth coming home for.

      Like

  6. I do miss those jacarandas and nothing compares to Bowen mangoes and Moretón Bay bugs….

    Like

  7. Welcome Baaaccck.

    Like

  8. Used to love those afternoon thunderstorms

    Like

  9. Welcome home.

    Like

  10. I’ve never seen poinciana trees before-how beautiful!

    Like

    • They are gorgeous trees and there are a lot them planted here.

      Like

  11. As much as we love our travels, there is something to be said about returning home wherever it may be. This is about same time of year that the same trees start blooming here in Florida.

    Like

    • Spring is a pretty time in Brisbane even though most things are green all year here. The flowering trees are gorgeous.

      Like

      • Even though we live halfway around the world from each other, we do live in similar environments. After moving back for New England where we had four seasons, it takes a little while to get used to everything being green all year here in Florida. One of the nice changes at this time of the year are the flowering trees.

        Like

  12. I just returned from Italy and Germany. I didn’t realise how much I love the Australian sun!

    Like

  13. […] чрез Home в Бризбейн – Бани ди Лука и Отвъд […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

